index archive Notes Diaryland

 

Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2017 at 11:19 p.m.


So recently I have been thinking about children. Reproducing in general.

I think it is one of the most beautiful and most selfish things a person can do.

Visiting my cousin who is a mom for the second time. we were all sitting around, drinking our tea/coffee, and her first born was playing by the coffee table and her new born was being passed around like the eating sleeping thing new borns are... and every person that held the new born, me included, needed to voice their opinion about who they think the baby looks like. I mean what other conversation/judgement can you have for a new born that cant talk nor fend for self?

You will always see and feel a sense of pride when you tell the parents oh s/he looks like you so much! Let's not forget the pride the aunts and uncles get when their niece / nephew looks like them as well!! It is cute, I cant deny but is it what you have a baby for? To have someone that looks or talks like you? Someone to Cary your name? Seriously, why do we have children?

So back to the scenario. Little kid being passed around and judged, and then the elder one being mischievous and, well, entertaining us ... he really was sitting in the middle being a rascal and we were all sitting around just laughing and admiring his youth.

The feminist in me loves being a woman, and the fact that I could possibly, I mean if.i am not infertile, house a child in my womb... that all is fascinating to me. Terrifying and fascinating. I am sure you get what i mean.

Let's be real, the world is not a nice place to be. Life after puberty, it kind of sucks. Sometimes i think maybe you'd be the mother of the child that's going to change the world. But what if they're not? What if all the genetic disorders i was born with were passed to them?? Then what? Why bring someone with a 50-50 chance of being miserable?

prev next