index archive Notes Diaryland

 

Wednesday, Mar. 24, 2010 at 10:03 p.m.


whats that quote, what happens to you shapes who you become?
well you know what? I am so thankful that grade 9 happened.

no no, words cannot express how happy i am that grade 9 happened.
if it didn't, right now i would be the most miserable person in the world. well maybe just another miserable person in this not so miserable world.

what happened in grade 9. let me remind my self.

grade 9 i got dumped by the person i thought i would be best friends with for life. yeah, bff? doesn't really exist. not when it came to her anyways.

her name was Nadia. we even looked similar, so people said.
i moved to a new city after grade 7. it was the hardest thing ever. i was depressed, i was a mess. all i wanted was to go back to the school i rocked. the school with the people that mattered. the school with the people i wanted to be friends with for life. with her. bff's.

but one day she woke up and decided that we shouldn't be friends anymore. why? i don't know. i was miserable. all i wanted was a reason. i was so hung up on that friendship. how could she? what did i do? what did i say? everyone was jealous we stayed friends after i moved.. then BOOM.

I stayed hung up on her for 2 years, i didn't allow my self to meet new people. i didn't allow my self to make new friends. i didn't allow my self to look past this misery. i wanted a reason.

mind you, she had moved on, made new friends, was having the time of her life. but me? i was still stuck in 7th grade. stuck in all the love and friendship that used to make my world go around.

one day i picked up the phone and confronted her. i asked her for a reason. what was her reason? "it was an instinct"

when she said that, even though it's the most retarded thing in the world, it felt like a weight was lifted from my stomach. it felt amazing. i could breath.

the min i allowed my self to accept this, and move on... life was great. i met so many amazing people, people that have made a difference in my life.

so, what did ninth grade teach me?
it taught me to let go.
it taught me not to get hung up on people.
it taught me to smile that it happened, and not cry that its over.
it taught me to look on the brighter side.
it taught me that when one door closes another one opens.
it taught me that things happen for a reason.
it taught me to take the best out of everyone.


most of all, it made me a stronger more accepting person.
i am more than happy it happened.

prev next